My Two Cents about the N-Word (Nigga)

Motivation for the World

N-Word_glow_t580

Years ago I was a high school teacher in an urban school where approximately 75% of the student body was Hispanic. It was a beautiful experience. On my first day, I heard numerous kids using a variation of the N-Word in the hallways. Welcome to our school Mr. Mack! I immediately questioned the first five or six students who I heard say it to one another. They didn’t know me yet. In fact, I was told I might have been the first African-American teacher the school ever had (or at least the first one in quite some time).

The students immediately thought that I should “get it.” They were not using the real N-word. Instead, they were using the term of endearment that black people have used for a long time. Therefore, it was alright for them to use it. Even some of the white kids in the school used…

View original post 482 more words

Leave a Reply

